Dr. Parsons (Director and PI) is a Clinical Neuropsychologist and Full (tenured) Professor in the College of Information (Dept of Learning Technologies). Dr. Parsons is also founding Drirector of the Computational Neuropsychology and Simulation (CNS) Lab. Prior to UNT he was a Professor and Research Scientist at the University of Southern California’s Institute for Creative Technologies. His research in computational neuropsychology (neuroinformatics) makes use of novel technologies (videogames; virtual reality; brain-computer interfaces) for modeling and simulation.

  • PI of 18 funded projects (Investigator on an additional 13 funded projects--over $15 million in funded research)
  • Co-PI on a Department of Defense ($998,888) grant to develop Avatar-Administered Neuropsychological Testing (AVANT).
  • In addition to his patents for eHarmony.com's Matching System, he has invented and validated a number of virtual reality-based neuropsychological assessments.
  • In addition to his five books, he has over 200 publications
  • Served as Associate Editor for Frontiers in Psychiatry; Frontiers in Human Neuroscience; and Journal of Alzheimer's Disease--as well as on the editorial boards of Cyberpsychology, Behavior, and Social Networking; Assessment; PsycCritiques; and Psychological Assessment.
  • 2013 National Academy of Neuropsychology Early Career Achievement Award
  • 2014, he was awarded Fellow status in the National Academy of Neuropsychology
  • Active Collaborations: Dr. Parsons has a number of active collaborations (click here)
  • Prospective Students: Dr. Parsons will be considering applications for a doctoral student. (click here)

Current Members:

Graduate Students

Justin Asbee received his Masters in Experimental Psychology from Radford University and his B.S. in Psychology from  Lock Haven University. His research interests include virtual reality simulation, neuropsychological measures, brain computer interfaces, and transcranial direct current stimulation (tDCS).

Raymond Piller is a  Veteran of the U.S. Army's 7th Special Forces Group. He is currently completing a Master of Science in Learning Technologies. His research interests include the computational modeling of assessment and learning data obtained from adaptive simulations using brain computer interfaces.

Jason Swan received his M.S. degree in Instructional Technology from Utah State University.  HIs research interests include evaluation of knowledge transfer from virtual environments to real-life practice and designing models of learning objects used in adaptive learning systems.


Deborah Cockerham received her M.Ed. in Mind, Brain and Education (University of Texas). She is Managing Director for the Research & Learning Center, Ft. Worth Museum of Science & History.




Megan Pierson is an undergraduate student in Psychology. She plans to go into the field of Physical Therapy as a career. Her research is focused on using novel technologies for assessment and treatment of chronic pain.

Past Members (Parsons's Lab @ UNT):


Fred (Timothy) McMahan, PhD: Faculty; University of Texas.

Allison Wilkerson, PhD: Faculty; Medical University of South Carolina

Soumya Mandava: Emory University Neuroscience and Behavioral Biology.

Nicholas Hertz: PhD Student, George Mason University (Neuroergonomics).

Stephanie Johnson, PhD: Postdoctoral Fellow; VA Medical Center

Sonia Valladares Rodriguez was a Visiting Scholar (2016/2017) from University of Vigo, Spain.

Kiefer Stonecipher was a post-baccalaureate student in the CNS lab. He is now a Registered Behavior Technician.

Eva Venturini was a Visiting Scholar (2015/2016) from University of Milan.

Past Members (Parsons's Lab @ USC):
Brian Arizmendi, PhD Student, University of Arizona (Clinical Neuropsyc)
Christopher G. Courtney, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow, USC/Long Beach VA
Louise Cosand, PhD, Assistant Professor, Pomona College
Brent J. Lance, PhD, Research Scientist, Army Research Lab (Neuroscience)
James Reinebold, MS, Game Developer, Rockstar Games

Dongrui Wu, PhD, Research Engineer, GE Global Research